Creating a search form for multiple tables (1 Viewer)

jlspickler

Local time
Today, 04:36
Hi all,

Not only am I brand new to this forum (Hi!), I am also new to MS Access (I just took training on how to use it all day yesterday).

I am a biologist, not a computer programmer, so please use plain lingo since I am not able to understand much computer jargon! :p

Background on my Access problem:

I am creating a database of bird banding and breeding records for the refuge where I currently intern. To do this, I have created the following tables:

Adult Banding Records
Nestling Banding Records
Historical Banding Records

The specific issue:

I have already created forms for entering data into these tables, but now I would like to create a "search" form that will use the primary key (which is always the band number of the individual bird, across all tables) to search ALL the tables and pull up all the information on that record. This will be convenient when we recapture a bird that is already banded, so we can look up their information in our database. Also, since I plan to add many more tables, it would be nice to not have to search each table individually.

Thank you very much for any assistance, and please let me know if I was at all unclear!

-Jessica

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 12:36
You would find it a lot easier if you have just the one 'banding' table populated with your existing data and with one extra field which indicates the type - adult, nestling, historical. Then you only have to search one table

jlspickler

Local time
Hi CL_London,

Thank you for your response.