Custom right-click menu: Export to Excel not available (1 Viewer)

anski

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 22:38
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
70
Hi. I made my own Shortcut Menu (right click) on a report using a macro. I used runcommand - ExportExcel. When I right click on the report, this function is disabled but in the Print Preview Menu, the Excel Export is working. (Take a look at picture.)
 

Attachments

  • exportExcel.png
    exportExcel.png
    44.3 KB · Views: 27

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 06:38
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,861
How did you create the Shortcut Menu? Are you able to post a copy of database?
 

anski

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 22:38
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
70
How did you create the Shortcut Menu? Are you able to post a copy of database?
hi. this is the db i patterned my shortcut menu. i downloaded it from a forum.
 

Attachments

  • testMenu.zip
    16.3 KB · Views: 25

anski

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 22:38
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
70
To solve my own problem, instead of using RunCommand - ExportExcel in the macro, I used OutputTo and chose Excel as the Output Format.
 

isladogs

CID VIP
Local time
Today, 14:38
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
14,038
The shortcut menu that you've posted isn't the same as what you've shown in post #1. All that contains is Cut, Copy, Paste.
You also haven't posted your report.

In order for someone to help you, we really need a copy of your database rather than another one you downloaded from the internet!
 

AccessBlaster

Custom title here:
Local time
Today, 06:38
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,897
Even if you could export a report to Excel the result would be truncated. Export the source of the report, i.e. query.
 

anski

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 22:38
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
70
The shortcut menu that you've posted isn't the same as what you've shown in post #1. All that contains is Cut, Copy, Paste.
You also haven't posted your report.

In order for someone to help you, we really need a copy of your database rather than another one you downloaded from the internet!
I misunderstood Isaac's question. I thought he did not know how to make a shortcut menu since I clearly mentioned in my post that I made the shortcut menu using a macro. Since I am not an expert programmer (and I thought he wanted to learn how to make a shortcut menu), I posted the db made by somebody a lot more knowledgeable than me than to provide something that might contain errors. That test db actually taught me how to make shortcut menus. I thought that he might find that test db more valuable than my own db that might contain errors.

"You also haven't posted your report." - What report? The picture I attached in post #1 contains a partial picture of the report. In my opinion, the actual report is immaterial to this particular issue.

Anyway, as I have said, I have found a solution to my concern. Instead of using RunCommand - ExportExcel, I used OutputTo. Good day to all.
 

isladogs

CID VIP
Local time
Today, 14:38
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
14,038
Well if you are happy, that's fine but I expect one of us could have helped you fix the shortcut menu if you had uploaded your database.
 

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 06:38
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
2,861
To clarify, I both a) wanted to try to help you, if humbly and tentatively so, and b) have never done what you have done, and yes -hoped to learn something in the process. Which is a typical mixture of my intentions on any given day at AWF (barring the occasional ignoble urges that crop up from time to time).

So yes, as I.D. says I would have liked the real copy, to see if I could figure out the "why" behind your problem.
But, as you have explained your motivation for posting a different one - thanks, I appreciate the sentiment.

Was curious to figure out why your right click option was grayed out - but glad you got it working and are satisfied. : )
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom