Determine highlighted (not selected) row (listindex) in a listbox or contents (1 Viewer)

cyberman55

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:39
Ok, I thought I was a pretty good coder, but this one has me stumped and wondering if anyone can help with an obscure/arcane thing.

I have a listbox on a form. When I select an item in the list, I understand how to retrieve anything needed. But I found that if I select and item, and then hold down the left mouse button whilst moving up or down in the listbox each row is highlighted, but not actually selected until I release the mouse button.

The question is, is it possible to determine anything about the currently highlighted row before releasing the mouse button?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 19:39
Hi,

Just a thought but have you tried any of the mouse events?

cyberman55

Registered User.
Local time
Yes, with the mousemove event I can read the values and listindex of first selection, but I can't figure out how to read anything about the highlighted rows as the cursor moves up or down in the list. It's weird since the highlighted row changes and you'd think there would be some property of the list to grab the index number of the highlighted rows. It's not the .selected property, as far as I can tell since that refers to the initial selection and doesn't change until the mouse button is release whilst the cursor is over a row in the list.

My guess is they never imagined it would be needed. But I'm working on an inspection application meant to work on iPhones and Androids via RDP clients. I've managed to get it to work by renting a server from apps4rent.com and running my database (2013) in the runtime. It's pretty cool since it opens the door to some clients who've rejected me by requiring a hosted solution. They told me accounts use it all the time. Their clients can access accounting software and the account can get to the data remotely.