Disable Close Button (1 Viewer)

Jgr4ng3

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:15
Hello

I have a Time Management database which the users keep closing without running a specific query by mistake. In an effort to work around this I added a the query to the 'On-close' event of the main form, however this cannot be used as some times they need to close the db without running this query.

I have therefore instead opted to disabling the close button. I followed this guide (support.microsoft.com/kb/300688) using a test database however when I try to run the code I am presented with the following error...

Compile error:

The code in this project must be updated for use on 64-bit systems.
Please review and update Declare statements and then mark them with the PtrSafe attribute.

Now I'm not an expert with VBA, but I know you all are so though I'd request your assistance :).

Cheers!

spikepl

Eledittingent Beliped
Local time
Today, 05:15
So sometimes, before the db is closed, the users indicate that the query is not to be run, and some times they don't. How ? Specify how, and then get help to tackle the two logical paths, instad of adding complexity and weirdness to your db by disabling the close button.

Jgr4ng3

Registered User.
Local time
So sometimes, before the db is closed, the users indicate that the query is not to be run, and some times they don't. How ? Specify how, and then get help to tackle the two logical paths, instad of adding complexity and weirdness to your db by disabling the close button.

Basically I have a button they can click to close it without running the query, and a button they can click to run the query and close. When they are supposed to be click the button to run query and close, they are just pressing the close X.

I don't see what else I can do but any advise or suggestions are appreciated.

pr2-eugin

Super Moderator
Local time