Question Does a every table in a 3NF DB have to have a PK? (1 Viewer)

oZone

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 17:26
Does every table in a 3NF DB have to have a PK?

I'm an access noob, still learning, please bare with me.

When building a database in Third Normal Form, does every table in the DB have to have a primary or composite key? Can a table just have a Foreign key and no Primary key?

I should know this, but for some reason my brain isnt working at the moment...

Thanks!

Last edited:

Banana

split with a cherry atop.
Local time
Here's series of question.

How do you intend to uniquely identify a given row from the table?

What would be the most efficient manners of uniquely identifying the given row? How many columns, and what data types should we use?

The speed of index depends on the size of data necessary to point back to the actual row. How small can we get this?

Hopefully that will help you think things through. Post back if you have any more questions.

oZone

Registered User.
Local time
Well, here's my specific situation. I have a table, and the part in question is structured like so:

tblClients (ClientNumber, ClientName, ClientType)
tblClientContacts (ClientNumber, Phone, FirstName, LastName)

The ClientNumber in tblClients is the PK, and I need to join it to tblClientContacts but do I need to put a PK in tblClientContacts? Cant I just join the PK in tblClients to the FK in tblClientContacts?

The thing is, I cant make the ClientNumber field in tblClientContacts a PK because several clients have more than one contact, which creates duplicates of the same ClientNumber in that column. And I am not allowed to create any additional fields in any tables (such as ID fields), I have to work with only the fields that were provided in the original FlatFile table (this is a 3NF normalization exercise). So rather than create a composite key, wouldnt it be easier to leave a PK out of tblClientContacts and just use the ClientNumber as the FK?

Banana