Enter an "X" automatically in a field when Combo Box selection is "No" (1 Viewer)

Djageman

Local time
Today, 05:00
Hello! I taught myself access and built a project status board for our office based off of youtube and google. Bear with me as I'm a complete novice....

I'm trying to automatically have an "X" placed in text fields when "No" is selected from a value list.
We have documents/agreements that relate to some projects but not all. If the document is not needed for the project I would like to place an "X" in the related fields (date received (I have this as text instead of date), date requested, expiration date, etc.). All the documents are included on the report based on the form so when there's an "x" people know that document was not needed for that project.
Agreements Example.jpg

Thanks so much in advance for any help!

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:00
Set the relevant controls in the AfterUpdate event of the combo.
However not sure how you can do that, if those fields are Dates?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:00
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:00
Gasman's point is well taken. IF the fields in question are not text fields, you cannot do what you wanted without more complex formatting. If that is for display only and those "x" values are never actually stored, you can make them have a particular displayed value using the IIF function. If they are dates, you can pick an "impossible" date for your project and make those dates the impossible date. For instance, the first PC came into existence in the early 1970s, so if you picked a date such as 1 Jan 1950 (LONG before the first PC was even designed much less built), you could make the box show a value of "X" - and if not that date, just show it as a regular date.