Enter today's date automatically on Change (1 Viewer)

randolphoralph

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:07
I am still learning Access and need some help.

My table has a field named Today and Number.

I need the Today field to automatically enter the current date when the Number field is changed.

I believe I need to use =Date() to accomplish this but not sure where to put it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Today, 11:07
Defaults at table level will ONLY work when there is a new record. You would have to code it into your form's Before Update event.

randolphoralph

Registered User.
Local time
Here is what I have done to get it to work.

Code:
Private Sub Form_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)
If Len(Me.Today & "") = 0 Then
Me.Today = Date
End If
End Sub

How can I change the code above to get it to display yesterday's date when the current date is a Tuesday-Friday and Friday's date when the current date is Monday?

randolphoralph

Registered User.
Local time
So in other words I am looking for the workday (assuming the workweek is Monday through Friday)

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 14:07
"I need the Today field to automatically enter the current date when the Number field is changed."

First off, if the object is to only change the Today field when the Number field is changed, then the Number_BeforeUpdate event is where the code should be placed, not in the Form_BeforeUpdate event. The Form_BeforeUpdate event would be the correct choice if you wanted the date changed when any field in the record was changed, but not when a change is made to only a certain field.

Next off, this code
Code:
If Len(Me.Today & "") = 0 Then
 Me.Today = Date
End If