Form on a loop? "duplicate values in the index, primary key, or relationship." (1 Viewer)

mrcruz

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:59
Form on a loop? "duplicate values in the index, primary key, or relationship."

Hi everyone, I am new to operating access. I have a form that appears to be on a loop of some sort. My form is linked to a table and query to search for previous participants. Before the form comes up a query comes up to search for the previous participant, but I am wanting to add a new participant so I have a button to select add new. Once on my main form I have it set to enter a new program participant ID and date of contact then select Add New Participant, and this is where access auto populates another participants information with a different number and data. I attempt to overwrite the old number and it doesn't work. Any thoughts?

Here is the code for creating a new record,

Code:
Private Sub cboSelectParticipant_AfterUpdate()
    Dim rs As Object
    If Me![cboSelectParticipant] = 0 Then
        DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    Else
        Set rs = Me.Recordset.Clone
        rs.findfirst "[VictimID] = " & Str(Me![cboSelectParticipant])
        Me.Bookmark = rs.Bookmark
    End If
End Sub

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:59
Re: Form on a loop? "duplicate values in the index, primary key, or relationship."

Hi. Welcome to AWF! I'm not sure there's enough information there to help us figure out what you're trying to do. Are you able to post a sample copy of your db?

mrcruz

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:59
Re: Form on a loop? "duplicate values in the index, primary key, or relationship."