Form Saving Issue (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 01:56
Hi All,

I have a database that works fine. Apart from 1 form which now takes over an hour to save. Every other form is fine. Instant saves. But this one just locks all office apps on my PC while it saves. I have recreated the form from scratch, and it stays the same. There is a near identical form that uses all the same VBA, and this has no issues saving.

Has anyone encountered anything like this before?

~Matt

EDIT: This is when I am making changes and saving from design view, and not a data save. This form is used only to display list boxes. There is no source for this form.

EDIT EDIT: I have turned off the Name AutoCorrect option as I had seen somewhere that this caused slow saves.

Last edited:

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
When you say Save, do you mean the form from design view, or saving a record from the form?

MattBaldry

Local time
When you say Save, do you mean the form from design view, or saving a record from the form?
Hi Minty,

I mean saving a design change. I shall update the main post.

~Matt

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Well if that other form works fine and is nigh on identical, why not take a copy of that and amend to suit.

MattBaldry

Local time
Well if that other form works fine and is nigh on identical, why not take a copy of that and amend to suit.
Hi Gasman,

That is what I did to create the new form, which is why the codes are all the same. The only difference between the 2 would be the source query to the main listbox used on both.

If I use the old version of the form and use the new query source, it still saves fast. It has really boggled me. It has now been stuck saving since 09:32, and it is 11:55 where I am.

If I had hair, I would have pulled it all out by now.....

~Matt

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time