Question Freight Quotes (1 Viewer)

brianborn

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:07
Hi,

First off I want to admit that I'm a student and also an aspiring database developer, but still in the beginning stages. So the help I'm requesting is a combination of a project to help me do my job more efficiently and with the bonus of gaining more knowledge of how a database works. Part of my daily responsibilities at work is providing freight quotes to Account Managers. Currently I keep the data like weights and the weight class needed in a spreadsheet and when I receive a quote request, it requires a lot of manual work.

My question is how do I start this database? My thoughts are that I need the following 3 tables.

1) tbl_SKU (this is a list of all the products we ship)
2) tbl_QuoteLog (to store the main details like the client, shipping cost, packaging, and total cost)
3) tbl_QuoteDetail (to store the multiple items being shipped that is linked to the QuoteLog)

The relationship from (tbl_QuoteLog - one) to (tbl_QuoteDetail - many) is easy, but I'm not sure how to tie in (tbl_SKU) to this mix. I have control of the fields that are in the tables (QuoteLog & QuoteDetail), but the SKU table comes from my company's internal database.

I'm not really sure how to explain what I need help with. If I can just get started, I'm confident that I can have fun building this database and it being useful in my daily tasks.

My vision is to have a multi-part form where the one-side table shows at the top where I enter the client's ID and other details I need and then a subform where I can click a drop down list to select items in the SKU table that will not only show the SKU, but also the description, weight and weight class.