Heads up on Microsoft Windows 10 1909 Update.!!! (1 Viewer)

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
I’ve never used Windows search utility and never will. Windows search is not able to index mapped network drives, is very slow, there Is no live index utility and you don’t have control over file types.

I use Everything . It’s known as the fastest Search-as-you-type search engine. The first time it runs, it create the index. Everything can index a 1T byte in a minute or 2. It can index mapped network drives, you. An set file type to be indexed and a lot more options.

After the first index, Everything is on watch for any change in a drive and doesn’t need additional indexing.
@Tera
Thanks for that. I seem to recall I had that on one of my computers in the past as well.
However, I am not convinced nothing else was affected, just that I have not discovered it yet :), so I will still hold off for now.
I will try Everything again though. (y)
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,421
IMO, Windows search is a lot better than it used to be and it still works correctly for me in version 1909.

1591457940144.png
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
Yes, that is what it is for me, now I have uninstalled the update. :)
First it only produced web links and directed you to pages which showed you how to use the non web links options. :)

Then after the final restart, it would not find anything, so be aware. I have been on 1909 for a good few weeks as well.
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,421
I have had 1909 for about 3 months. I must admit I rarely use that search method but it definitely works correctly on all my 1909 machines.
Whether version 2005 will be trouble free whenever it is installed is another matter
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
Colin,
It is not 1909 at fault, but the Cumulative Update for it.?

Would you be able to see if you have had that update please and all is well with you.?

As I stated, this is a Heads Up, in case anyone else has the chance of having the same problems.

This is what I have now, having uninstalled the update. Winver stated 778 suffix after the update and the KB is KB4549951
1591466996032.png
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,421
@Gasman
Yes I do have that update
1591469868871.png

I suggest you report the issue using the Feedback form as its important enough for MS to respond...hopefully quickly.
When I reported that 1803 had broken the geolocation service, they released a fix in less than three weeks
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
@Gasman
Yes I do have that update
View attachment 82675

I suggest you report the issue using the Feedback form as its important enough for MS to respond...hopefully quickly.
When I reported that 1803 had broken the geolocation service, they released a fix in less than three weeks
Wow, I wonder why it was so late giving it to me :unsure: . I do have Updates switched off I admit, for the most part, but that got through and I thought 'what the hell'. Note to self, do not do that again. :)
Of course the irony of all this is I googled how to supply feedback and then used the Search to get the Feedback Hub. That is what I use Search for, finding something within windows, not certain files, but after that update, I would have not been able to do that. :)
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,421
Updates are offered when MS deems your system is ready depending on which other updates are installed. On one PC, version 1903 update failed on at least ten occasions due (I think) to hardware compatibility issues . It then successfully jumped to 1909 at the first attempt bypassing 1903 completely.
 

Steve R.

Retired
Local time
Today, 05:05
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
2,049
This thread prompted me to go slumming. I booted into Windows and was shocked to got a strange unexpected set-up screen. Seems that Microsoft may once again be pushing nagware. Windows 10 is nagging users with full-screen setup prompts.

Last year, Microsoft added a new feature to Windows 10 that shows a full-screen prompt when a system starts. The full-screen notification has been designed to encourage users to set up services ‘powered by a Microsoft account’ and it looks like Microsoft has once again started nagging users with the notification.

In theory, the new prompt would be displayed only on the first run after installing or upgrading Windows 10, but some users have reported that they’re getting the notification without updating their system. The full-screen notification could also appear when you simply sign out and sign back into the desktop.
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
Well I am chancing my arm on one laptop going to version 2004. 😬
I will report back as to the results.
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
Well that did not go very well :mad:
The taskbar has gone white.
Entries do not appear in menus until you drag the mouse pointer over them.
Search still works though. :)
1591642026377.png
1591642056910.png
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
OK. I tried one reboot and got some semblance of a workable system back.
Ooh!, look at the pretty taskbar now. :unsure:
Task manager is now working again and menu entries are visible.

1591643101340.png
1591643234174.png
1591643441119.png
 

Attachments

The_Doc_Man

Happy Retired Curmudgeon
Local time
Today, 04:05
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
17,059
Gasman, that sounds/looks like a staged update i.e. you had to do it in parts. And rather obviously they didn't tell you that you needed to do so. I've seen that before with Windows AND with other operating systems.
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:05
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,002
Doc,
These updates are very large, and take a while, so I go off and do something else. It does say that it will do repeated starts.
However when I came back, it was just sitting there waiting for me to log in.
After the 1909 issue, I thought I would just try a restart and if that did not fix it, put it back. That laptop was still on 1903 as it does not get used too much.
In fact Windows update said it was going to install 2004 and then an update for 1903 :)
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom