Help - Change Field Value in different table based on field selection in a form/query (1 Viewer)

vicsalt

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:57
I have a couple of tables - one contains work requests and one contains the engineering data. I use various query's for the engineer to select the job . Via a form based on a query. When the engineer select the job I want to set a Yes/No field in the Works Order table to "true". I need advice on the code you would use to use. and if its possible.
My incorrect sample code in red is what im hopping to do . Note the form/query Im using does not contain the field i want to populate.

Private Sub selectjob_btn_Click()
[Tablename], [Cellname] = True

Please note IM not a coder at all simple try to google solutions etc so please be gentle :)

GaP42

Local time
Today, 20:57
VicSalt - You are trying to update a value in the WorkOrder table that is not represented/displayed on the Job/WorkRequest form. The click of the button is the action that indicates the WorkRequest has been accepted, however the Yes/No field for accepting a WorkOrder is in the Work Order table - please confirm.

Q: How is it known that the WorkRequest has been "accepted" - does a field exist for this - like, does the id for the person get written to a column on this table when the button is clicked?
Q. Does a WorkOrder relate to many WorkRequests? eg a WorkOrder for repair of, say a ship, potentially spawn many work requests: navigation repair, steerin sytem reapir, engine repair etc? If so then updating the Yes/No field in the WorkOrderTable does not make sense - updating may occur from any WorkRequest.