help in deciding the best way to set up my database (1 Viewer)

Jason_c

Local time
Today, 22:47
Hi guys n gals

I want to create a Database for Client management in my business, I'm a bookkeeper, and I need to record lots of information on my clients, a list of which I'll make below. This, I can tell, is going to give me many many months of headaches and heartache, so I've come here to at least get an understanding of the ground work I'm going to have to put in getting the basic table structures correct first.

I will try and give you as best description of how I want the database to work, input methods etc, so bear with me if this seems to be a wall of text. I'm not looking for you guys to do all the work for me, just some help in the best way to structure my tables/queries/forms that will get the best out of the information stored.

List of information to record :
  • Client details: Name, address etc
  • Client type : Limited, Sole trade, partnership etc
  • Services for each client: Bookkeeping, VAT, Payroll etc
  • Frequency of service: weekly, monthly, quarterly etc
  • For each service, when it was completed, sent to client, approved, filed with the authorities etc

I offer, I guess, 2 types of service:

1) Accountancy: encompassing bookkeeping, vat, payroll and management accounts.
2) Company secretarial: encompassing filing annual returns, recording minutes of meetings, dividend warrants, and all other co sec paperwork.

A lot of my work has filing deadlines, specific dates determined by the relevant government bodies with which they are due to be filed, of varying frequency, some annually, quarterly and monthly. I'd like eventually to be able to produce a report that shows what deadlines are to be met for the following month so I can structure my work load accordingly.

Then to record when the work was completed, sent to client, approved by client and ultimately filed with the relevant gov't body.