Solved Help with column of hours and minutes summing as hh:mm (1 Viewer)

Aryzona

Local time
Today, 07:41
I track the time spent on a task in hours (as number) and minutes (as number) . A person may have 7 entries in a month. I need to be able to show total hours and total minutes on the report per each employee.

Currently, i have a calculated field that takes my hours and converts them to minutes and then adds those converted minutes to the minutes field so i have maybe 910 minutes spent on that task for that person for the entire month. This should total to 15 hours and 10 Minutes. Currently my query shows 14 hours and 70 minutes and a total min of 910.

When i convert it using Mod 60 - i am getting the hours correct but the minutes are not reflected accurately.

I tried to use a function, CalcHoursOrMin that i found on the web, which works beautifully line by line but still does not give me a total per person for the entire month.

I am new to access - still learning not only the access interface but also VBA. I am pretty sure i am simply missing something.

Any help would be super!

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Not sure why you're not getting the correct result. I just tried the following in the Immediate Window and got the right answer.

Code:
?910\60 & ":" & 910 mod 60
15:10

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Something like this in a textbox:

=Int([FieldName]/60) & ":" & Format([FieldName] Mod 60,"00")

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:41
Are you trying to store the data in a date data type field? Dates are points in time. They ALWAYS include a date. And they NEVER display more than 23:59 as a time. Your best bet is to convert the data to minutes when you store it initially, then you can divide by 60 to get hours and use mod to get the remainder which is minutes. I think either theDBGuy or pbaldy's solution should work for you if the data is stored as raw minutes.

Aryzona