How to call a function from aMake table query (1 Viewer)

jnh

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:15
I am pretty new at this and have LOTS to learn....

Have a Make table query and don't seem to have correct coding that calls a function and places funtion result into specified table field

VBA coding (simplified):

private function Create_Week_Num () Week_Num as String
do something
end function

The VBA coding is in a lib named: Work1 Module1

Query field:
Week_Num:[Create_Week_Num])

Help is greatly appreciated...jnh

spikepl

Eledittingent Beliped
Local time
Today, 20:15
Public function Create_Week_Num () Week_Num as String

jnh

Registered User.
Local time
Need a little more help:
How do I code the Make table query to call that function so that WeeK_Num gets
placed into correct field in given table. Thanks...jnh

nanscombe

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:15
You almost had it:

Code:
Week_Num:Create_Week_Num()

jnh

Registered User.
Local time
Some progress (hope ?) BUT now when runnung the Make table query it gives me the
error:
undefined function '[Create_Week_Num]' in expression

The Actual function is stored in _Work1 - Weekx (Code) as

Private Function Create_Week_Num(WeekNum As Integer)

What am I doing wrong ?

Thanks...jnh

jnh

Registered User.
Local time
CORRECTION
Correct VBA storage area is named:
Work1 - Weekx (Code) (NO leading Work1 _), sorry

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
But seriously, you shouldn't be saving calculated values. Calculate it on-the-fly in a SELECT query.

jnh

Registered User.
Local time
This is a MAKE table query and the field stored will be used as a selection criteria in several reports and select querries and/or input to lookup tables down the road.

This function is only done once a year.

Believe I am using the correct approach but feel free to correct me if you think I am wrong.

My problem is tying the query field to the function...jnh

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time