Is the .column property available in Access macros (1 Viewer)

GoodyGoody

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:12
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
120
HI, I want to check the value of column 3 in one of my combo boxes in a macro but Access doesn't seem to make it available to macros where of course it is available in VBA. Am I missing something or is my syntax wrong for the macro: cmbSeriesID.column(2)? Thanks, Stephen
 

zeroaccess

Active member
Local time
Today, 05:12
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
671
You may need to create a public function and call it from the macro.
 

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:12
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
3,478
maybe you are not starting at the correct place in the hierarchy. Maybe Forms!myFormName.cmbSeriesID.column(2) ?
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 18:12
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,233
you can get the value of any column of the combobox using Macro.
you can even assign the value to a LocalVar or to Tempvar.
just make sure to enclosed the comboname in square bracket, eg:

[cmbSeriesID].Column(2)

remember also that Column number is zero based (meaning, to refer to column 1, [cmbSeriesID].Column(0)).
 

GoodyGoody

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:12
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
120
Thanks. I'll just do it in VBA as there are some other tests I need to do anyway and it will be neater.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom