Multiple Users with NAS access - Deployment (1 Viewer)

Gaztech

Local time
Today, 20:26
Hi guys,

I'd like to get something clarified if possible. This may be a simple answer but I'm new to Access so I think it's best to check...

I have a split database and currently have up to 5 users accessing it. Each user has a Frontend for the system on their machine but the Backend Datafile sits on our shared Synology NAS drive.

So far, everything has been working fine. No errors have popped up and the data seems ok. No corruption or erroneous entries.

I need to find out if this method is suitable from the point of view of data integrity. I used to use Dataflex for my database requirements when I worked for another company and you could explicitly code a "re-read before save" function to ensure that if someone changed the data entry you were about to overwrite you could get a warning pop up (or not if you didn't ask it to do this). I had 30 + users using that and never ever got any errors. It was solid as a rock.

Access seems to be very much a "do it immediately" type of system and seems look after itself in this regard but I'm a little nervous about how it goes about ensuring nothing gets corrupted if two users are looking at or editing the same record at the same time. Hopefully it doesn't just lock it up so that neither can save it!

If the way I'm currently doing this is satisfactory from a data integrity point of view then will it still work the same way if I create a folder per user on the NAS Drive to put their respective Frontend into. What I'm aiming at is for each user to use their own Frontend copy from the NAS but connect to the shared Database Backend.