Mutliple Text Fields in a Report (1 Viewer)

Adam Caramon

Local time
Today, 12:56
Hi,

I'm mostly self-taught, so this might be something that I just missed, or it might be due to the design of the inherited database, but any help would be appreciated.

We have paper forms that are filled out, approximately 20k-30k/year. Each of these paper forms is read electronically by a scanner and the data is dumped into an Access table.

On these paper forms there are 3 different comment-type sections. In Access, these are all set as MEMO fields. For this explanation we'll call them memo1, memo2, memo3. Often times, these memo fields are blank, as people don't always fill them in, which is ok.

However, when trying to create a report that displays the various information that is being captured, I'm running into problems. If I add each of the memo fields to the detail section of a report based on a query, then it displays much like a simple table view.

Example:

Code:
[B]Memo1          Memo2          Memo3[/B]
Blah
               Blah
Blah
                              Blah
Blah
               Blah
                              Blah
                              Blah

Whereas I would like it to show up as:

Code:
[B]Memo1          Memo2          Memo3[/B]
Blah           Blah           Blah
Blah           Blah           Blah
Blah                          Blah

In other words, skip blank entries in each text field.

Now, with only 1 text field on a report, you can filter blanks out with criteria in a query, or do the "Can Shrink" trick. But, when you have 3 different text fields from the same table, what's the best way to solve this problem?

Thanks in advance.

DCrake

Remembered
Local time
Today, 17:56
What relationship exists between the memo fields and the record? Are you employing any groupings in your report?

Adam Caramon

Local time
What relationship exists between the memo fields and the record? Are you employing any groupings in your report?