Newbie needing a bit of help with queries (1 Viewer)

MonkeyBoy

Local time
Yesterday, 21:01
Hello,

I'm a complete newbie, I've been teaching myself how to use access 2003 and write queries for a couple of months now but i'm looking for a bit of help with a task i've been set and IIf statements?

I've been asked to 'create a report' that shows all the products issued by the department over the last 3 calender years by day, week and month as well as identifying the team the officers responsible for issuing the product was working in at the time of issue. They would also like these results presented as a graph/chart.

Now, i've managed create a query that will pull out all the data needed ie

Issuedate showing the date the product was issued (the day),
productdesc showing the type of product issued,
officerdet showing and the officer responsible for issuing the product.

I've formatted the issuedate in another 2 columns to show the dates by week and month the product was issued.
So far so good however, i still need to identify the team the issuing officer was working in and this depends on the product issued. For example a rotovator issued by JSWoods would have been done while working in the land team while a Mop issued by SBrown would be done as part of the Utilities team. There are 24 teams in all and i created a nested IIf statement for these however, an error message came up saying it was too complex but i am at a loss as to how else i can do the iif statements.
Can i do separate iif statements using & or is there a simpler way?

thanks

Beetle

Duly Registered Boozer
Local time
Yesterday, 22:01
Do you have a table for Teams, and if so is that table related to your Products table in any way?

It all starts with the data structure, so we need to know more in order to help you.

MonkeyBoy

Local time
Yesterday, 21:01
Hi beetle,