Newbie needs help with combo box and editting record (1 Viewer)

Funkyaccess

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:05
Hi,

As I'm new to this forum I will briefly describe my experience, I have extensive Excel and Excel VBA knowledge and have been working with ORACLE products for the past 3 years.

I need some help with a combo box (It maybe a design fault from my part) but here goes

I got two tables

Tbl_stores
Store_id(autonumber)
store_name (text)
in_use(yes/no)

tbl_sales
sale_id(autonumber)
store_id (number)

The two tables are linked in a one to many relationship with the tbl_sales store_id setup as a lookup

On the form I have a combox which is populated by a query i have that only shows active stores. This works great when adding records but if you editting and you edit a store that was closed after it was add the combobox simply defaults to the first availble value rather than have the old store plus the current active stores. Where should I start?

Also I want to be able to "merge" stores together so would it be better to do the "merge" in my reports and only merge when a date after the merge?

Many Thanks for your help.

CameronM

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:05
On the form I have a combox which is populated by a query i have that only shows active stores.

This is your problem, the query does no include the inactive stores. You could change the Row Source of the combobox whenever an existing record is opened. You would add code to the form's On Current event to test that the form is displaying an existing record, perhaps by looking at the value of the primary key

Code:
If txtSales_id > 0 then
     cboStoreId.RowSource = "NameOfQueryWithAllStores"
else
      cboStoreId.RowSource = "NameOfQueryWithActiveStores"
End if

Also I want to be able to "merge" stores together
Are you wanting to merge all the sales data for one store into another?

Funkyaccess

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:05
Thanks Cameron,