Solved Queries Parameter Include AND Exclude (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 01:10
Good morning all,

I am having an issue with a query where I want to filter a field based on 2 different drop downs. I want 1 drop down to filter ONLY by that customer or all customers if blank.

The second drop down I want it to filter that customer out or show all customers if blank. I use a wild card as below for the include filter.

Like "*" & [Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] & "*"

I cannot seem to get anything to work on the exclude though. If it is blank, it shows no customers. If I select a customer, it works.

Where am I going wrong on the exclude?

On this query I have 10 fields that can be filtered on, but only the customer will have both include and exclude options.

In the past I have done this with a separate query for just the customer filter part, I was hoping there was a way to avoid this though.

~Matt

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
To filter to just the customer selected, remove the wild cards and use (no point using the wildcards you know they are in the list).

[Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] OR [Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] Is Null

To exclude do something very similar

NOT = [Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] OR [Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] Is Null

Both of these should handle when nothing is selected to return everything.

MattBaldry

Local time
To filter to just the customer selected, remove the wild cards and use (no point using the wildcards you know they are in the list).

[Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] OR [Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] Is Null

To exclude do something very similar

NOT = [Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] OR [Forms]![frmProductionManagement]![cboCustomerFilter] Is Null