Query to split string (1 Viewer)

Stefano919191

Local time
Today, 15:55
Good Morning to all,
my name is Stefano and I write from Italy.

I'm not an expert about Access but I'm developing a new program/database for my company.

I have a DB (DB1) fixed in a folder that I choose. In this db there is just a table with records wrote by a external machines.
In this DB I have a string field (example string: a;b;c;d;e;f;g;) and I need to split this string in a different table and in more field in an other db (DB2). (first text of string into first field of Table2 and DB2)

How can I do?

I'm sorry for my bad language and thanks in advance to all.
Bye

Last edited:

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:55
not enough information to provide a detailed solution but two possible solutions come to mind

one is to look at using the split function, the other is to extract the string field to a text file then use transfertext to import the data to your other table. It may be that is how your data was supplied originally so you may already have the text file.

If you want a more detailed solution, provide the following:

1. explain how the table with the string field is currently populated - imported from a file? if so provide details of the file - text? excel? something else? i.e. what does 'with records wrote by a external machines' mean?
2. provide the field names and types for the table in table2
3. expand on this '(first text of string into first field of Table2 and DB2)' what about the second, third, etc? or do you only want the first?
4. Is this a one off exercise or one to be run on a regular basis? If the latter, do you need to ignore values that have already been imported?