Referencing a control within a subform within nav form (1 Viewer)

jjone

New member
Local time
Today, 23:59
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Messages
3
Hi guys,

I have a navigation form which contains a form called frm_cr_dashboard, which its self contains another form called frm_list_expired_cr_training within a tab control, which in turn has a combobox called training_type_combo that I would like to reference.

I have tried to use the expression building for this. However, it doesn't allow me to access the combobox or anything else (picture attached).

trouble.png

Is anyone able to help on how I would reference this?

Thanks
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 06:59
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,775
i think it is a report?
there is only one Subform control in the Navigation form (NavigationSubform).
so in your case, frm_list_expiered_cr_training will not be available, until you
you go to its "Tab/Page".

you can just create a Normal Tab control, then all subform's are
loaded immediately and you can now reference your control.
 

jjone

New member
Local time
Today, 23:59
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Messages
3
Thanks for your response arnelgp.

It shows up as a report in the builder, but it is actually a form. I have the form open on the tab in the background to load it, but it still shows as a report in the builder. It also does this on other forms on the nav form where I have used tabs to put other subforms.

What is a normal tab control?
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 06:59
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,775
on my ms access this is the one:
tab control.png
 

jjone

New member
Local time
Today, 23:59
Joined
Apr 26, 2022
Messages
3
Ah yeah, that is what the forms are in, inside another form, which is in the navigationform.
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 06:59
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,775
Tabs in Navigation form is different from Normal Tab control.

You see different tabs on Navigation Form, but actually there is only 1 subform, Navigationsubform that
host all your "subforms", depending on which tab you are in.

if tab1 (frm_list_expired_equipment) is currently active, the other subform is not Loaded therefore
frm_list_expiered_cr_training subform will not be available.

but if the tab where frm_list_expiered_cr_training is currently active, you reference the the combobox as:

[Forms]![Navigation Form Name]![NavigationSubformName].Form!training_type_combo
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom