Rejecting a Claim based on a certain criteria in the subform (1 Viewer)

vid

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:18
Hi!

I have a mainform with a subform. The subform has a field called Reason Code. Suppose there are x number of records in the subform for that particular record. What i need to do is that if more than 30% of x have an entry of TBA in the Reason Code field, the claim should be rejected and the user should be notified with a message box.

I know the logic that i want to implement but i'm very knew to access so I'm not good with the VBA syntax at all.. Please help!!

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 05:18
Something along these lines:

Code:
Dim countAll as long, count30 as long

countAll = Controls("NameOfSubform").Form.RecordsetClone.Count
count30 = DCount("*", "SQL, table, or query", "WHERE [Reason Code] = 'TBA'")

If ((count30/countAll) * 100) >= 30 Then
          Msgbox "Max number of claims reached", vbInformation, "Max claims"
Else
         .... Do Something
End If
You could create a query that has the WHERE clause in it already and just simply use that in the DCOUNT() function, ignoring the WHERE part. For any other circumstance you would need the WHERE clause.

NB: You don't need the word WHERE in the function. I put it there so you know which parameter it goes into. So the real syntax is:
count30 = DCount("*", "SQL, table, or query", "[Reason Code] = 'TBA'")

Last edited:

vid

Registered User.
Local time
Hi!

I'm a real beginner at this stuff. Can you please help me a little further.. I don't understand what i should replace

"*", "SQL, table, or query"

with.. and I tried using just the countAll part of the code to see if it works and used a message box to display the number or records that it counts but a window pops-up which says "object doesnt support this property or method!"

Please help...

vbaInet

AWF VIP
Local time
Oops... change count to recordcount.

You replace this part:

"SQL, table, or query"

vid

Registered User.