Relationship question (1 Viewer)

Kenln

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:15
And the newbie says: "I'm new to this so I apoligize up front."

I wish (I think) to have two tables:

tbl_Order_Header:
Unique records although the values in the fields will not be unique, i.e. only one (Customer_No + Order_No + Order_Revision), thought the customer, order number and order revisions can be used multiple times just not in the same combination again.

PHP:
tbl_Order_Header:
- Customer_No
- Order_No
- Order_Revision

tbl_Order_Details:
Nothing unique here, I could autonumber, multiple line items each needing to reference to the Customer_No + Order_No + Order_Revision
PHP:
tbl_Order_Details:
- Customer_No
- Order_No
- Order_Revision
- Item
- Cost

How do I build the relationship (One [tbl_Order_Header] to Many [tbl_Order_Details] with integrity)?
Which, where do I use the Primary Keys?

I thought of using a query to create a COR (Customer_No + Order_No+Order_Revision) Field as a primary key (tbl_Order_Header) but I can't get the query to build it i.e. I can't press enter and have a null COR field.

sigh....

I'm new to coding (though I've got that working elsewhere okay) but I am still having relationship problems (hehe, so it's not a new joke).

I apreciate any help you can give me,

Last edited:

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Code:
tbl_Order_Details: 
- Customer_No <-----remove
- Order_No 
- Order_Revision <----- remove
- Item 
- Cost
You only need the Order_No in the details table. That will be the foreign key to the Order table where you can get the customer information, etc.

Take a look at Northwind to see a simple order entry application schema.

Kenln

Registered User.
Local time
Unfortunaltely the Order_No is not unique

Unfortunaltely the Order_No is not unique. Customers #1 - #10 could have Orders #1 - #10 and each order could have revision #1 - #10. Orders are only unique with respect to the Customers and revision.