Solved Relationships with linked table (1 Viewer)

Cris VS

Local time
Today, 21:28
Hello,

I am very new to Access and I am not sure if this makes any sense but I am just going to explain it to see if you can help me. I have to import an Excel sheet to Access. As this sheet is continuously modified, I imported it using the "Linked tables" option. This table contains items that have 4 different attributes: unique ID, Name, Height and Weight. I chose this import option because new items are added very often and sometimes attributes are modified (except the ID).

I need to create a form where the user can select through a combo box the corresponding item and fill in two additional fields that should be stored in the database. My idea was to create a table for these two fields, with an AutoNumber as primary key and a lookup field to relate each record with the ID field of the Linked table's records.

However, when I create the form I have managed to show the item's info when selecting it's ID through a combo box but I cannot fill the other two attributes, as the fields appear but it doesn't let me type. I have tried modifying the join properties and changing the row source of the ID field from one table to the other but I am afraid don't know where the problem is.

I hope I was more or less clear. Could you help me out?

Cheers

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:28
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

As much as possible, you should try to base the form on a single table only. The extra information you want to store should be in a separate table than your linked Excel spreadsheet, since you won't be able to edit that table anyway.

So, you bind the form to your local Access table and simply use the RowSource property of the combo to refer to the linked table from Excel.

Cris VS

Local time
Hi Pbaldy, I get an error message saying the file has been permanently moved

Cris VS

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!