Saving a record only via a save button (1 Viewer)

Danners

Local time
Today, 08:54
Hi all,

I know a couple of users have had this same issue, and I have had a look around many of the posts on the issue and tested some of the code but I cant get it to work properly. Please bear with me, I'm fairly new and self taught to this stuff so it has mainly been trial and error.

I have an access database with a bound form. The form is used purely for data entry purposes and currently is set up so that when the user selects a button called save and submit it processes the record and moves the form on to the next blank record (I have removed normal navigation buttons)

Code I currently have in the database is as follows:

Option Compare Database

Private Sub cboSubGroup_Change()
Me.txtCost_centre.Value = Me.cboSubGroup.Column(1)
Me.txtInternal_Order_No.Value = Me.cboSubGroup.Column(2)
Me.txtStatistical_Internal_Order.Value = Me.cboSubGroup.Column(3)

End Sub

Private Sub SaveCommand_Click()
DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec

End Sub

What I now want to do is make it so that the records will not save unless the save and submit button is clicked, so for instance if the user starts accidentally typing a record and then closes the database the record will not save. There are lots of users who expect it to work in the way of excel etc where if you close it will not save changes if you have not clicked save – even though this is not how access works.