Screen Design (1 Viewer)

Petran

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:16
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
11
I hope someone can assist. I am designing screens but find it extremely difficult to change the screen sizes. This is because the 'put cursor on the border, right click and drag to the correct size' is not user friendly. I cannot get the right click on the border changed to the two way arrow to move the form's border. it is extremey sensitive and as soon as the right click is performed, the cursor change back to normal and you will have to start again. Most of my design time is spent on this activity
Is there not an eazier way to do this?:banghead:
 

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 03:16
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
18,246
Which version of Access do you have?
 

Mark_

Longboard on the internet
Local time
Yesterday, 19:16
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
2,111
Are you developing on a laptop computer without a separate mouse?
 

Insane_ai

Not Really an A.I.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:16
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
264
Have you tried the properties form, entering manual Height and Width?

Or a new mouse?
 

Petran

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:16
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
11
Insane_ai, i tried a new mounse without success. . . . .
 

Petran

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:16
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
11
Mark: I us a Laptop with external mouse. Not the Mousepad. . . .
 

Insane_ai

Not Really an A.I.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:16
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
264
Have you tried a lower resolution setting on your display? Since we're stuck with a single pixel border, it may help to use bigger pixels.

I think you're asking for a way to adjust the double arrow sensitivity to click and drag a form window; if that is the case I believe you're at the mercy of Microsoft redesigning the whole setup.

I found another thread on the topic:

Fix form border widths in Access 2016 under Windows 10
https://access.uservoice.com/forums/319956-access-desktop-application/suggestions/10989657-fix-form-border-widths-in-access-2016-under-window

last relevant update :
I apologize for an honest mistake with updating the status to Done.
We did fix a similar issue with Query design and Relationship window, but haven’t fixed this one.
Again – sorry for the mix-up.
Michal [MSFT]
 

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 21:16
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
27,219
You can manually set the form's .Left and .Width properties via the Form's property sheets or via VBA. You can also set a form section's .Top and .Height properties from the Section property sheets or with VBA.

Just remember that forms and reports are actually based on vertically stacking Sections kind of like horizontal stripes. It is just very rare for you to see a form's headers and footers because most of the time we design them to be of zero height.
 

Frothingslosh

Premier Pale Stale Ale
Local time
Yesterday, 22:16
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
3,276
Yep, it's an Access 2016/Access 365 thing. Their 'sizable' orders are basically one pixel wide. We're SOL until the next time they decide to redesign the borders.
 

Petran

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:16
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
11
So that is it, Microsoft should change the border size. . . . .
Thanks all for your contribution, i will close this one
 

static

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:16
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
823
You can move/size any form with VBA

Create a new form
Add
2 toggle buttons - tglSize and tglMove
1 list - lstForms
1 button - btnRefresh
1 textbox - txtMoveBy


Copy the code below to the form's module.

When you open the form all open forms will be listed.
If you open another form click Refresh to refresh the list.
Select the required toggle button and use the arrow keys to move/size the form.
Set txtMoveBy to the amount you want to move/size by.


Code:
Private Sub Form_Load()
    txtMoveBy = 200
    lstForms.RowSourceType = "value list"
    btnRefresh_Click
End Sub

Private Sub btnRefresh_Click()
    lstForms.RowSource = ""
    For Each f In Forms
        lstForms.AddItem f.Name
    Next
End Sub

Private Sub tglSize_KeyDown(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    Dim mvby
    mvby = txtMoveBy
    If Not IsNumeric(mvby) Then Exit Sub
    If tglSize Then
        With Forms(lstForms)
            .SetFocus
            Select Case KeyCode
                Case 37: DoCmd.MoveSize , , .WindowWidth - mvby
                Case 38: DoCmd.MoveSize , , , .WindowHeight - mvby
                Case 39: DoCmd.MoveSize , , .WindowWidth + mvby
                Case 40: DoCmd.MoveSize , , , .WindowHeight + mvby
            End Select
            KeyCode = 0
        End With
        tglSize = 1
        Me.SetFocus
    End If
End Sub

Private Sub tglMove_KeyDown(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    Dim mvby
    mvby = txtMoveBy
    If Not IsNumeric(mvby) Then Exit Sub
    If tglMove Then
        With Forms(lstForms)
            .SetFocus
            Select Case KeyCode
                Case 37: DoCmd.MoveSize .WindowLeft - mvby
                Case 38: DoCmd.MoveSize , .WindowTop - mvby
                Case 39: DoCmd.MoveSize .WindowLeft + mvby
                Case 40: DoCmd.MoveSize , .WindowTop + mvby
            End Select
            KeyCode = 0
        End With
        tglMove = 1
        Me.SetFocus
    End If
End Sub

Private Sub tglMove_LostFocus()
    tglMove = 0
End Sub

Private Sub tglSize_LostFocus()
    tglSize = 0
End Sub
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom