Solved Setting up ODBC data sources for accdb files in Windows 10 (1 Viewer)

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:49
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,337
Does anyone have any experience of adding a driver for accdb files under Windows 10?
I'm testing out Qlik View with Access which means, for the first time, I'm trying to install a 32-bit driver on my home PC.

The steps I used were as follows:
  1. I open the Control panel
  2. I click on 'Set up ODBC data sources (32-bit)'
  3. In the 'ODBC Data Source Adminsitrator (32-bit)' dialog window, selected 'MS Access Database'
    1. This selection has its driver listed as 'Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb, *.accdb)'
  4. I click on <add>
This is where the problems started.

  1. 'Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)' is available. There's no option for '*.accdb', even though it was shown in step 3 (above)
  2. I chose '*.mdb' (as it was the only option) and clicked <Finish>
  3. Back in the 'ODBC Microsoft Access Setup' dialog, I clicked on <Select>
  4. As expected, the database to which I want to connect is not visible unless I change the 'List of File Types' to 'All Files'
  5. I do this and it allows me to select my accdb file
  6. I click <OK>
  7. I close the dialog
  8. Back in the 'ODBC Data Source Adminsitrator (32-bit)' dialog, the database I just selected is displayed
  9. When I opened Qlik View and tried to connect to the database, it now showed up in the list of available data sources.

I thought all had worked, however...

I click on it and get a message that the ODBC Microsoft Access Driver Login Failed due to an unrecognized database format (I strongly suspect this is because of me manually changing 'mdb' to 'accdb' above).

If anyone has encountered any similar issues with adding a driver for ACCDB files, your experience would be much appreciated.
 

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:49
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,337
Hi,

Do you have Access installed on your machine?
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I have Access installed and I created a small database to use for testing (just one table).
 

cheekybuddha

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 21:49
Joined
Jul 21, 2014
Messages
516
>> I chose '*.mdb' (as it was the only option) and clicked <Finish> <<

Are you sure? When I do it it just appears as if .accdb is not available.

See image:
Annotation 2020-05-25 184448.png
 

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:49
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,337
Yes, in step 4 I changed the file type to 'All Files'.
After that, I could see the accdb file I want.
I (perhaps incorrectly) assumed I could do this, as the earlier screen showed *.mdb and *.accdb as options?
 

cheekybuddha

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 21:49
Joined
Jul 21, 2014
Messages
516
Basically, it shouldn't matter as long as you choose an .mdb or .accdb.

I think your error is somewhere else.

What 'bit-ness' is your Access install?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alc

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:49
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,337
It's 64 bit. Professional Plus 2016.
However, when I go via the 'ODBC Data Source Administrator (64 bit)' dialog and select 'MS Access Database (which shows both *.mdb and *.accdb as options), only 'SQL Server' is available in the 'Create New Data Source' dialog.
 

Alc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:49
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
2,337
Sorted!
The problem turned out to be that only the 32 bit Access drivers were installed (no idea why).
I downloaded and installed the 64 bit and Access showed up as it should.
I was then able to connect in Qlik View.

Thanks so much for the help, it pointed me in just the right direction.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom