Simple VBA macro to copy records from one table to another (1 Viewer)

dim4x4

Local time
Today, 02:48
Hi!

I am a newbie here. I have some experience with Excel VBA, but Access is totally different. Could you please help me with the following?

I have two tables in my Access database, their fields are exactly the same (for now). One table is called Uncheched. The other one is called Checked.

So what is need is a macro that takes selected records in table Unchecked and copies them to the end of table Checked. Actually CUTS from Unchecked and PASTES to the end of Checked table.

Thank you!

PS. This is what I'm trying to do, but without much success so far

Sub MoveRecords()

DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdCut
DoCmd.OpenTable "tblChecked", acNormal, acEdit
DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acLast
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdPaste

End Sub

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 00:48
Why not keep all the records in one single table and provide the option to add a checkbox against a particular record?

namliam

The Mailman - AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:48
well in database land we dont do things that way....

We would have only one table and have a Checked field that would contain a Yes or a No.

You should then have a query for checked and unchecked to access your table/data.

dim4x4

Local time
Well, many people will have access to the Unchecked table. They will be entering records. There will be mistakes, some records would not be approved at all, etc. Only one person (me) will have access to the Checked table. I do not want other people who enter data into Unchecked table to be able to see or even worse - edit any records after they have been checked by me and copied to the Checked table. I'm even thinking of having two separate database files - Unchecked and Checked. And password protect Checked file to be viewed and/or edited only by myself.

So Unchecked table/file most of the time should be empty or have just a few pending-to-be-checked records.

Thank you!