Subreport not showing (1 Viewer)

Gismo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:39
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
421
Hi all,

I have a report with 2 subforms spritting with a page break
the first subform works perfect when opened by iteself
when i open the report with the 2 subforms, only the second subform shows

there is no parent/child link nor any source in the main report as the 2 subreports are independently code
what could be the reason for the first subform not to display?
 
Last edited:

strive4peace

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:39
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
469
hi Gismo,

could there be a saved filter on the subform that doesn't show?
go to the design view and check properties on the Data tab of the Property Sheet.

Look at LinkMasterFields and LinkChildFields for the subform control. Maybe Access put something there that you don't know about.

if that isn't it, is there code behind the form?
 

Gismo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:39
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
421
hi Gismo,

could there be a saved filter on the subform that doesn't show?
go to the design view and check properties on the Data tab of the Property Sheet.
The main report has no properties set, it is as was created. there is no filter, no source, no events set on this main report
even when i remove the page break and the second sub report, the first sub report does not display, but the form does display as it should when opened outside of the report/subreport
 

strive4peace

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:39
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
469
try looking at it using Report View instead of Print Preview ... does it show there?
 

strive4peace

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:39
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
469
> "The main report has no properties set "

not the main report ... open the subform using the Navigation Pane in design view and look there
 

strive4peace

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:39
Joined
Apr 3, 2020
Messages
469
and also, in the design view of the main report, click on the subform control containing the subform not showing and look at Data properties for the CONTROL
 

Gismo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:39
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
421
and also, in the design view of the main report, click on the subform control containing the subform not showing and look at Data properties for the CONTROL
Report view and print view has the same effect
all are set to visible
No filters set

i do have an "on no data" set on the second subform, which in this case has no records but it displays
 

arnelgp

error reading drive A:
Local time
Today, 19:39
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
9,280
what really are the two subs, report or form?
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 12:39
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
12,091
presume the first subform control has the correct name in the sourceobject property? - and that name is not also the same as another object such as a form
 

Gismo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:39
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
421
presume the first subform control has the correct name in the sourceobject property? - and that name is not also the same as another object such as a form
2 different reports with very different names
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom