Text Box results based upon separate input (1 Viewer)

dab1477

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:30
Thanks in advance for the assist.

I have a CODE table with 2 columns, Code & Description. I have a form where I input a CODE value; I want a second text box to retrieve the corresponding description from the CODE table. I'm a newbie and am unable to make this occur successfully. I don't want to choose from a combo box, I simply want the second box to return the value in Code Table, column 2, based upon matching the value from Text Box1 to column 1 in the Code Table.

Thanks.

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 18:30
The combo would be much easier; users can still type into it, they don't have to scroll/select. If you want to use a textbox, you'll either need to use a DLookup or open a recordset to get the corresponding value, using the after update event of the textbox.

dab1477

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks. Not sure I made my situation clear. Thanks for you patience...

I have a table (tbl_InpspectionData). This table has the following 6 columns:
ID Date InspectionDept ReasonCode ReasonCodeDescription Qty

Because of the data collection method, operators input a CODE as an indicator of scrap/reject for EACH occurrence. There may be 40 - 50 different entries. I have setup the form (multi -input) to INPUT The following:

Date InspectionDept ReasonCode and QTY.