Turning a db into a webpage. (1 Viewer)

Fuga

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:04
Hi,

Is there a good developer tool for turning an access db into a webpage?

Or should I go about it in a completely different way?

I want it to work just as it does, but I would like to have it on the www.

Fuga.

johndoomed

VBA idiot
Local time
Today, 07:04
What kind of webpage du you want to make? Do you want to make a extranet-site with the same functions as the Access DB, or do you want to make a standard website with content from the DB?

The thing is, you make a webpage, and you get content and other info from a DB.

Dreamweaver (Macromedia/Adobe??) is the best tool around.

Fuga

Registered User.
Local time
I think I want to have the functions on the extranet.

The thing is I´m an absolute beginner when it comes to web-designing.

My db contains quite a lot of Vba stuff, and quite a lot of calculations.

Fuga.

johndoomed

VBA idiot
Local time
What kind of system is this? CRM?

How many people are going to use the system? Can you consider VPN as an alternative?

Just thinking out of the box..

There is a huge and difficult, not to say impossible, to do this yourself in ASP if you dont know anything about it.

Fuga

Registered User.
Local time
So there isn´t a MsOffice-like program with OLE and Vba possibilities etc?

I don´t think there will be many simultaneous users. VPN might be an option. Would I use it like a frontend locally at the users end?

And what about creating an activeX in VB and put that on the web?

Fuga.

johndoomed

VBA idiot
Local time
Not simultaneous users. Total users which are going to use the system. If there is just a few, I would go for the VPN option. With IP security.

Think that is the best and easiest way. At least from my point of view.

Fuga

Registered User.
Local time
Well, if all goes well, I think there might be 100 - 500 total users.

Wasn´t there a program called frontpage?

Fuga.

johndoomed

VBA idiot
Local time