Use form button to change value in table (1 Viewer)

StrangePowers

Local time
Today, 15:20
Hi there,

I'm building my first database, to manage a small library.

There are multiple copies of certain books, which is represented in the books table in the copies field, which has a certain number in each record.

In the new loan form (which is bound to the loan table) want the save button to automatically subtract 1 from the copies field for the corresponding record. I suspect this can be with a macro, but since I'm totally new to this I'm not quite sure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ranman256

Local time
Today, 09:20
Make an update query,that will add/reduce the qty.
The button will execute the query,via macro:

Docmd.openquery "quMyQuery"

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 14:20
Hi there,

I'm building my first database, to manage a small library.

There are multiple copies of certain books, which is represented in the books table in the copies field, which has a certain number in each record.

In the new loan form (which is bound to the loan table) want the save button to automatically subtract 1 from the copies field for the corresponding record. I suspect this can be with a macro, but since I'm totally new to this I'm not quite sure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Saving the result of a calculation in a table is not usually recommended. Better to do the calculation in a query/form/report whenever and wherever it is required.

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 09:20
My guess is your table structure is not fully reflecting your requirement. The fact that you have copies of books and loan them, indicates you could/should have a copyNo or similar in your table to uniquely identify each item in the table..
Perhaps you could show us your table set up. There are several articles for Database Planning and Design in the link in my signature.

StrangePowers

Local time