Use form values in another form (1 Viewer)

ajudante

Local time
Today, 06:51
I have form1 collecting two values. form2 has calculations that refer to the values collected in form1. For example: [Forms]![form1]![field1]+[Forms]![form1]![field2]. But this only works when form1 is open. Once form1 is closed, all calculations in form2 give an error (#Name?). I am an Access beginner and obviously there is something I am missing. I spent 8 hours yesterday reading Access forums but unfortunately I still can't make this work as I couldn't find a clear solution. Any clues?

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 13:51
save the value of the textbox to a Global variable or a Tempvar then use these variable in your calculation.
or you can have a Query, based on the table of form1, with calculated column that will show the calculation.
or use dLookup() function in your calculation.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
I am an Access beginner and obviously there is something I am missing
not really, you can only reference forms that are open. Does form 2 need to be opened without any reference to form1? i.e. the fields should be blank or hidden?

Perhaps explain exactly what you want to do, rather than how you are trying to do it. There may be other ways

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 01:51
Their are a couple ways to do it. One way is like Arnelgp does with a global or tempvar.
I do the same technique all the time and works on pop ups.
1) I put a OK, Cancel button on the pop up
2) OK makes the form inivisible but open, Cancel closes the form
3)The calling form looks to see if the pop up is loaded (even if invisible)
4)If loaded then take the values (because you hit OK), Then close the form invisible but open popup.
5)If not loaded then do nothing because the form is closed and the user hit cancel.

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time