Solved VBA loop update table with field from another table - multiple criteria (1 Viewer)

Mandy2

Local time
Today, 11:25
Hi all, I am quite new to VBA and in need of help.
I have two tables: Table_1 and Table_2.

Table_1
Student NameCurrent SchoolFuture SchoolAgeSchool Max AgeResidence AreaSchool Area
Richard BellLittle Angels3Erindale

Table_2
School NameSchool Max AgeSchool Area
St John5Erindale
Passion Education4Barrie

I am basically trying to move the students from their current school into a future school under two conditions:
1. School Area = Residence Area, and
2. Age < School Max Age.
If we follow the example above, St John satisfies the condition therefore the three Null fields will be updated with St John's data from table_2.
I'd like to create a loop that updates table_1 based on the above conditions, table_1 contains 30 records.

Here's what I have so far:

Code:
Private Sub NewSchool()
Dim i As Integer

Dim db As Database
Dim rs As Recordset
Dim rs2 As Recordset
Dim str As String

Set db = CurrentDb
Set rs = db.OpenRecordset("Table_1")
Set rs2 = db.OpenRecordset("Table_2")

i = 0

Do While Not rs.EOF
If rs.fields("Residence Area") = rs2.fields("School Area") and rs.fields("Age") < rs2.fields("School Max Age") Then
Update rs.fields("Future School Name") = rs2.fields("School Name")
End if

rs.MoveNext

Next i

rs.Close
Set rs = Nothing
db.Close

End Sub

Any help is appreciated!
I apologize if this has been answered before, please redirect me if so.
Thanks!

Last edited:

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 08:25
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

If you can produce that information using a query, then you shouldn't need to store that information. If so, then there's no need to update Table1.

Mandy2

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

If you can produce that information using a query, then you shouldn't need to store that information. If so, then there's no need to update Table1.
Thank you!