VBA RunSQL to update existing field record in table from Form (1 Viewer)

daps07

Local time
Today, 22:39
I am new to Access VBA, slowly building up knowledge, and having trouble getting an On Click Update Event using RunSQL to work.
I have a form bound to the Card Description table1 to get the Onhand_Stock value, as long the Product name meets then it will get the value from the Vault_Stock location.
This transaction works fine.

From the form I created.
Current_Stock = Onhand_Stock - Transaction_QTY

Once the Current_Stock is already updated from the form transaction, I need to get back to the Card Description table1 and update the existing record from the result value I have on the Current_Stock. But the problem is I have some difficulties to updates the existing record (On-hand) right after current_stock is updated.

Based on my understanding I need to use DoCmd.RunSQL UPDATE after right below condition
If cboStockLocation = "VAULT_STOCK" Then ???

But I don't where to start.
Any help appreciated.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 15:39
You will be constantly told not to store the current stock value, calculate it as and when required. So where to start is to not do it.

reason is simple, real life means you will have occasions where the quantity is wrong, the date of the transaction predates an existing transaction, to name two reasons.

describe your situation - what tables do you have, what types of transactions, where this information comes from

in principle you just have one transaction table plus perhaps a transaction header, products, transaction type table, maybe customers and suppliers

daps07

Local time
Today, 22:39
The concept of the Database actually is to create Inventory for Stock In and Stock Out wherein I have 2 Stock locations Vault and cabinet.
I have a Product name table that includes the onhand stock for both Vault and Cabinet.