We Shall Overcome (1 Viewer)

Steve R.

Retired
Local time
Today, 11:17
Pete Seeger's rendition of "We Shall Overcome" just played on my Pandora feed. (I happen to like folk music). The dream of Martin Luther King: "I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of our skin, but by the content of that character." has been quashed. The Biden administration has resurrected racism by judging people based on the color of there skin. The dreams of the 60s have now evolved into a nightmare. The "We shall Overcome" movement has now metastasized into becoming the oppressors. Conform or else.

Reminds me of two other 60s hits that seem ever more relevant today.

Last edited:

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Given that I skipped college and joined the workforce at a very early age (I was a programmer before I was old enough to vote and before colleges were offering computer science degrees), the 60's isn't real to me. I was there. I listened to the music. My friends went to war but it was like watching the BLM riots today or watching the Afghanis chasing an airplane that was leaving them to be murdered by the Taliban and their wives and female relatives stripped of their basic human rights and brought right back to the 8th century. Horrific events that made me cry at the inhumanity of it all but that didn't touch me. Somehow the people I went to coffee houses with and sang folk songs with went on to wreck the country I love and I don't know how it even happened.

Steve R.

Retired
Local time
Somehow the people I went to coffee houses with and sang folk songs with went on to wreck the country I love and I don't know how it even happened.
I have fretted over that for years. :mad: