Disable autosave (again)? (1 Viewer)

howieh

Local time
Today, 04:44
Hi, I know there are quite a few posts on the forum already about how to disable autosave in access. But I am an absolute noob in Access and still have no idea how to disable autosave after reading all the threads... Can someone post a detailed, step by step guide on how to do this?

Much appreciated!

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 07:44
You're trying to reinvent the way Access is intended to work, and this becomes a problem with experienced Access data input users. They know that Access saves records when moving to another record or when the form is closed, and expect this behavior. In my opinion, it's a better policy to allow Access to work in its native way and merely check with the user before the record is saved, allowing them to save it or dump the new record or changes. This piece of code will do just that
Code:
Private Sub Form_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)
If Not (Me.NewRecord) Then
 If MsgBox("Would You Like To Save The Changes To This Record?", vbQuestion + vbYesNo + vbDefaultButton1, "Save Changes to Record ???") = vbNo Then
  Me.Undo
 End If
Else
 If MsgBox("Would You Like To Save This New Record?", vbQuestion + vbYesNo + vbDefaultButton1, "Save This Record ???") = vbNo Then
  Me.Undo
 End If
End If
End Sub
Linq ;0)>

howieh

Local time
You're trying to reinvent the way Access is intended to work, and this becomes a problem with experienced Access data input users. They know that Access saves records when moving to another record or when the form is closed, and expect this behavior. In my opinion, it's a better policy to allow Access to work in its native way and merely check with the user before the record is saved, allowing them to save it or dump the new record or changes. This piece of code will do just that
Code:
 If MsgBox("Would You Like To Save The Changes To This Record?", vbQuestion + vbYesNo + vbDefaultButton1, "Save Changes to Record ???") = vbNo Then
  Me.Undo