Need advice building a workforce and attendance database (1 Viewer)

mrr010

Local time
Tomorrow, 01:42
Hi there, first of all I have no prior experience in building a database. The reason that I am thinking of building one is that excel files that my company is using are tedious, difficult to read and manage, and unable to meet our demands.

My work:
We closely keep track of a few hundreds to a thousand of temporary staff and contract staff, typically their title/rank, department, team, team manager, location of work, rotation/secondment, contract dates, qualification dates, daily attendance (in hours) and etc. Not only do we list out their current status of the above information, but also the history of most records i.e. complete history of work location, when did they change team and for how long did they work in that team, and etc. In addition, we are also keeping track of the history of some vacancies i.e. who took this vacancy, how long did he work for, who took his position after he moved, is the vacancy available/unavailable and for what reason, and etc.

Some of my duties are to report monthly on staff performance/attendance, calculating average attendance (in hours) per week, making sure they do not cross a threshold, and to monitor the current workforce allocation. As you may imagine, we are continually expanding our excel tables in both rows direction and columns direction in order to achieve the above purposes.

In the current practice, I receive copies of attendance sheet, which is designed by finance, every month. I then use a VBA macro to capture and to format the daily attendance data from those sheets. The generated output is in this format:

Employee no. | Name | Rank | Dates | Dates | ....
10001 | XXX | Temp XXX | 7.50 (in hours) | 0.00 (in hours) | .....
10002 | YYY | Temp XXX | 7.00 (in hours) | 8.50 (in hours) | ....

Dates are typically from the 26th of last month to the 25th of this month, but that will depends on finance dept.