Nested looping within records (1 Viewer)

sbrown106

Local time
Today, 17:33
Hi - I'm trying to understand how to pull out values from a within related tables. I have a test example below to try and show this problem.
If for example I have 2 tables titled Table1 and Table2. I loop through a particular field in the first table, and with each value, I want to find the record in the second table where this value appears - but then display a different field within that record in table2. Ive tried the code below but it keeps on stopping on the first row. I think I 'm getting confused with excel in vba. I'm new to this and might have done something stupid, but there must be a better way. Should I be using the Dlookup instead? thanks for any help
Code:
Dim rs As DAO.Recordset

Dim rs1 As DAO.Recordset

Dim my_value As Variant

Set rs = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("Table1", dbOpenSnapshot, dbReadOnly)

Set rs1 = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("Table2", dbOpenSnapshot, dbReadOnly)

Do Until rs.EOF
' my value a value in a 'Test1ID' in Table1'
my_value = rs![Test1ID]

Do Until rs1.EOF

If my_value = rs1![Test2ID] Then
' display a value in a different field in a record in Table2 that satisfy the condition
'
        Debug.Print rs1![fldtest_inRecord2]

End If

rs1.MoveNext

Loop

rs.MoveNext

Loop

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 12:33
If looking for matching records, you want to do an INNER JOIN (which is the keyword you should look up.) Basically, you build a query for the two tables and pick the fields that you want to match. From your code sample,

Code:
SELECT T1.Test1ID, some other fields of interest
FROM TABLE1 AS T1 INNER JOIN TABLE2 AS T2 ON T1.Test1D = T2.Test2ID ;