Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Windows

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2019, 12:40 PM   #1
vba_php
Software Engineer
 
vba_php's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 562
Thanks: 69
Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
vba_php is on a distinguished road
"available wifi networks" icon not showing in taskbar

hey guys,

might need a little more help here. for days now, ever since the scammer got remote access to my windows 7 machine, my windows 10 machine's "wifi networks available" icon that is spose to be present in the taskbar's "system tray area" does not appear. the scammers did not gain access to the win 10 machine, however they did capture my phone number, which was the number of my phone at that time I was using the mobile hotspot with to connect my win 10 machine to the internet.

i have attached a screenshot proving that it is not there, and another screenshot to prove that the "display icon" setting for available wifi networks is indeed toggled to "on". anyone know what could the issue could be?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg no wifi network icon.jpg (46.5 KB, 11 views)
File Type: png wifi display icon turned on.png (52.6 KB, 8 views)

__________________
-Adam
vba_php is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 02:02 PM   #2
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,244
Thanks: 29
Thanked 285 Times in 271 Posts
AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about
Re: "available wifi networks" icon not showing in taskbar

Maybe you have a restore point prior to the attack.
AccessBlaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 02:20 PM   #3
vba_php
Software Engineer
 
vba_php's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 562
Thanks: 69
Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
vba_php is on a distinguished road
Re: "available wifi networks" icon not showing in taskbar

Quote:
Originally Posted by AccessBlaster View Post
Maybe you have a restore point prior to the attack.
I will check. there is nothing wrong with a factory reset though if all else fails. i've looked this problem up and all of the solutions found were for a scenario where the icon WAS actually appearing but no networks were being recognized when clicking on the icon

__________________
-Adam
vba_php is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 11:49 PM   #4
vba_php
Software Engineer
 
vba_php's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 562
Thanks: 69
Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
vba_php is on a distinguished road
Re: "available wifi networks" icon not showing in taskbar

ok guys, issue has been solved. i got *some* advice from MS people, but not much. I posted the solution here:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...1-a4b5ef796e53

The solution was found via a google search here:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...9-fe5bdfcf0fd6

When I talked to geek squad about the issue the agent said that the network card had probably gone bad and claimed to have witnessed many network cards going bad after just 10 days of buying a computer. I don't believe that one bit, as every person I've talked to that's told me they've gone to geek squad to help them fix a problem, have said that they told them the thing that was having the issue "was bad" and it had to be replaced. That's a great way to suck people in to spend money! I'm sure they're very profitable if that's all they say.

A friend that I work with named Alex took her machine into geek squad and they told her that the motherboard had gone bad. But another person we work with, Ryan, check her machine out and the issue was indeed marginal and the motherboard was fine. So I spose if any visitors to this site consider going to those geeks, be wary of what they tell you.

__________________
-Adam

Last edited by vba_php; 12-01-2019 at 11:59 PM.
vba_php is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If "TableA.FieldA" exists in "TableB.FieldB" then return "1" else "2" shdale Queries 8 10-29-2014 05:20 AM
Remove "Restore Window" icon on Report Menu Bar Danick Reports 3 05-04-2013 05:57 AM
Filter By Form showing only "IsNull" and "IsNotNull" lilachva83 General 1 11-22-2008 10:52 PM
How to gray out the "X" main close appl icon Bobby1st Modules & VBA 4 03-05-2008 10:41 AM
Filter By Form showing only "IsNull" and "IsNotNull" vangogh228 General 7 06-14-2002 01:06 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World