Access 2003 runtime installation fails (1 Viewer)

bugs007bugs

New member
Local time
Tomorrow, 04:49
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
9
Hi all.

It seems recently something has changed in Windows 10 64 bit which does not allow an Access 2003 runtime installation generated by the 2003 package wizard to complete the install.

It stops half way through with the following screen

1607780963874.png


Have tried the commonly suggested fixes used for other programs without success such as

msiexec /unreg
msiexec /regserver
regsvr32 vbscript.dll

Also tried starting the windows installer service and running the install as an administrator without any joy.

If anyone can shed any light on what is happening would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:49
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
15,656
Hi. Looks like you've run into this sort of problem before. Were you able to fix it?
 

bugs007bugs

New member
Local time
Tomorrow, 04:49
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
9
Too long ago on that one. Do not recall what happened.
 

bugs007bugs

New member
Local time
Tomorrow, 04:49
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
9
Thanks. Seems whoever tries to install or reinstall any 2003 runtime packages are in for some pain if they encounter this problem. So far the problem has happened on my machine and one client who has no other versions of Access installed.
 

bugs007bugs

New member
Local time
Tomorrow, 04:49
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
9
Also note the problem was not present at 3 Oct 2020 as the runtime installs worked fine then. Problem has crept in since then. I suspect Windows updates as I do not automatically update other microsoft products.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:49
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
15,656
Thanks. Seems whoever tries to install or reinstall any 2003 runtime packages are in for some pain if they encounter this problem. So far the problem has happened on my machine and one client who has no other versions of Access installed.
Do you know if your db works with the 2010 runtime? Just curious...
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 19:49
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
8,547
Also note the problem was not present at 3 Oct 2020 as the runtime installs worked fine then. Problem has crept in since then. I suspect Windows updates as I do not automatically update other microsoft products.
Well, a peek at the update list would confirm that.?
I've had an update to 20H2 and I have update services switched off on boot. :)
 

bugs007bugs

New member
Local time
Tomorrow, 04:49
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
9
This is mainly for clients using some older versions I have. Slowly moving over to 2010.

I have had a win of sorts. I uninstalled Access 2003 runtime then the install works fine. Existing 2003 runtime must have been corrupted somehow.

Have not dared venture to 20H2 yet.

Many thanks.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:49
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
15,656
Yes works with the 2010 runtime no problem.
Well, since you already managed to make the 2003 runtime work, I will just say you, at least, have the option of upgrading to 2010, or later, in case 2003 finally stop working for good.

Good luck with your project.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom