Access and VBA (1 Viewer)

PeteB

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 17:36
Hi Guys
I am currently building front ends to various databases for a local charity, on a voluntary basis. The databases are in Access and I have used both macros and VBA in the construction of the front ends. Part of the exercise involves convincing a couple on the committee that the solution is the right one. These two gents are experienced in the IT arena but I'm not sure their comments are entirely valid.
These guys hold the view that:-

• [FONT=&quot]Access is a dying application and should therefore be avoided;[/FONT]
  • [FONT=&quot]VBA is not a ‘clean’ language, is no longer supported by Microsoft and is susceptible to corruption and may corrupt data held within the databases.[/FONT]
I would appreciate advice from anyone on the forum who can put a justified counter argument.
[FONT=&quot]Although I have been an Access user for some time I am an absolute amateur compared to you guys so would very much appreciate your input.[/FONT]

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 16:36
Point1: Have heard this claim for over 10 yrs but MS continues to issue new versions.

Point2: Yes, corruption has been known to happen but usually the cause is improper design and management. A multi-user db should be split and each user run their own copy of frontend. Db early in development is more susceptible to corruption of objects. I had to rebuild some forms a few times. Don't remember ever experiencing data corruption.

Last edited:

Ranman256

Local time
Yesterday, 20:36
You are correct...create a split Access database and you can run a corporation with it.
It IS the way to go.
It is not dying for the little guys with a PC. Corporations with giant budgets don't need it but you can do a lot with it for your charity.

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:36
Have a read here http://www.enterprisefeatures.com/a...d-of-microsoft-access-is-largely-unjustified/