Advice on Connection - where should it be? (1 Viewer)

knn9413

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 21:46
Ok.. I am still a newbie working on access. So far, what I have done is I have included code to open a connection in every module i.e. add, update and delete. Obviously there is duplication of some code.

The one I am currently working on will probably be used by 5-6 people. My question is in the projects, is it good to open a single connection and if yes, where should it typically be opened?

Or should every single sub have its own connection? I have seen examples wherein they mention currentproject.connection which makes me think they have a single connection.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

spikepl

Eledittingent Beliped
Local time
Today, 06:46
You need to tell us what this is all about, because I smell a huge ado-rat roaming around here unnecessarily. Access/windows is not like web - things do not get forgotten between postbacks.

Frothingslosh

Premier Pale Stale Ale
Local time
Today, 00:46
You need to tell us what this is all about, because I smell a huge ado-rat roaming around here unnecessarily. Access/windows is not like web - things do not get forgotten between postbacks.

And now I have this mental image of rats dancing a conga line with the front one holding a little "ADO" sign.

knn9413

Registered User.
Local time
Sure.. I have a form which has different buttons wherein a user can update the current record, add part of the record being displayed into a different table or enter new data on the form and add a record to the table. Each of those sub routines has the following code

Set cnn1 = New ADODB.Connection
mydb = "H:\Documents\accesstest\Tasks.accdb"
strCnn = "Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=" & mydb
cnn1.Open strCnn

So my question was, do I need this code in each of those sub's or can this be placed in a single place to be used by any of those modules? Or do I need to specify this at all.