Another Newbie Question (1 Viewer)

JimmieC

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 16:15
I attempting to make the change to a sql server 2005 express be linked to an Access2003 fe. I have created the tables in sql server 2005 and linked to them in Access through ODBC. My question is can I create a stored procedure in access or can I copy a select access query and paste it to sql server and save it as a stored procedure? So far I haven't found a gui interface in sql server to design and save a stored procedure. If I am able to create a stored procedure in sql server then how do I access it in my Acess fe? Sorry for the beginner questions but I'm completely self-taught and have to grind out every single concept.

Thanks

Jim

tehNellie

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 00:15
You can create a Project (.adp) file in Access which basically treats Access as a front end to SQL server. This will let you create Views and Stored procedures from within Access directly on the SQL server rather than using linked tables.

If you want to continue using access "stand alone" and link to SQL server (nothing wrong with that, I use several databases in this configuration) you can execute Stored procedures on the SQL server, but you'll have to do it via VBA.

I've not used SQL server 2005 express edition or otherwise, but there isn't a similar tool to the view gui for Stored procedures, although there is nothing to stop you designing your stored procedure using this tool then finishing it off using the Query Analyser.

JimmieC

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks

tehNellie,