Basic DB Design principles for designing new staff/hr database (1 Viewer)

whitespace

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 19:54
Hello all,

I'm an expereinced data analyst that's looking at developing a database to record all our staff/posts/post history/assets etc. We already have an old Access DB but it's such a mess - anyway I've been drawing up some table and relationship plans and would just like to ask (I'm sure) a basic question:

I have drawn up obvious tables e.g. Employee, Post, PostHistory, Asset and understand the relationships I need to make e.g. 1 Employee to many PostHistory and 1 Post to many PostHistory; 1 Employee to many Asset - etc. (As it's possible for one employee to have/have had many posts and it is possible for one post to belong to many staff)

Anyway - in creating the Employee table I have a lot of columns say regarding the contact details (tel no. fac no. email, etc.) - is it generally adviseable to put these in a seperate table?? If so what sort of link would it be. The reason is I can;t help thinking they aren't directly linked to Employee details but then in a way they are - as there's only 1 set of contact details per employee?

Sorry to go on.. Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Jenny

KenHigg

Local time
Yesterday, 22:54
The first thing you should do is make a list of everything you want the databse to do from a business perspective. Be careful not to put 'nice' to have things in the list. The list should look something like:

- Record current employee information
- Employee information is:
1. Name
2. Address
3. City
4. Current job
5. Current job start date
6. Previous jobs
7. Previous job start and end dates

- Maintain this same information on employees no longer with the company
- Have a current list of possible positions with information like pay, division, etc

etc, etc