Basic stock control problem (1 Viewer)

my_brain_hurts

Syncytial
Local time
Today, 09:08
Hi All

I imagine that what I’m going to ask is a very basic stock control question (albeit the stock may be unusual) but please go gently on me guys as I’m very much an Access newbie - this is my first project (and possibly the last).:(

The background - I work in a lab environment and some of the tools of our trade are radioactive isotopes. I’m setting up a simple database to track usage of vials of different types of isotopes by various members of staff.

So far I have two tables – OUT (to deal with all the isotope withdrawals and user details) and NEW VIALS (into which all fresh vials of isotope stock are entered). There are a number of fields in each but the important ones are:
OUT (input via a form):
-vial number
-quantity withdrawn
-name
-lab number
-date.
NEW VIALS:
-vial number
-isotope
-description
-starting quantity.
I have a query [ALL WITHDRAWALS] containing many of those fields and with the vial numbers related. This query is the basis for my main report that details all usage grouped by vial number.

The problem - I want to set up a second report that presents the details of all withdrawals of a given isotope between defined dates. It will sum the amount of isotope withdrawn and the amount remaining in each vial (both easily done by defining criteria in the query). However, I also want it to calculate the total amount of isotope remaining across all vials of a certain isotope and so far have been unable to fix it. At the moment this query is taking its fields from the [ALL WITHDRAWALS] query.

For example
If I want to query how much of the isotope 32P is withdrawn between dates A and B I run my [ISOTOPE] query which pops up dialogues asking for:
-Isotope?
-Start Date?
-End date?
The result might be:
Two vials, each containing 32P isotope have had withdrawals made in the defined period. They each have two records: