Can I Remove Append query warning via VB code? (1 Viewer)

sphynx

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:18
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
82
Not sure if this should go here or in the queries forum?

I have a projects database near completion that I need to distribute across 30 + users, some don't have access while other have 03 and 07.

I have split my database into FE & BE, I have compiled my code and created an MDE front end to distribute. I have packaged this all into an installer which registers all the OCX & DLL files that my database requires & also installs Access Runtime if applicable.

Up to this point everything works perfectly my last problem is the append query warning within my FE when certain actions are performed.

I know how to manually alter this option within individual users Access but not how to do it within an Access Runtime environment. I would like to be able to do this when the MDE is opened via VB code.

All my queries are currentley run via the command "DoCmd.OpenQuery" within VB, ideally I would like to set this globally rather than recode every action query statement in my VB, is this possible?

If someone could please point me in the right direction I would be most grateful, as its the last piece of a rewarding but frustrating puzzle!
 
Last edited:

DCrake

Remembered
Local time
Today, 02:18
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
8,632
Have you used the DoCmd.Setwarnings False/True command?

If you wrap this around your action queries it will prevent the normal access dialog box appearing.

David
 

Banana

split with a cherry atop.
Local time
Yesterday, 18:18
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
6,318
My personal preference is to simply use CurrentDb.Execute instead of DoCmd.OpenQuery or DoCmd.RunSQL

Code:
CurrentDb.Execute "<Either a Query name or a SQL statement>;", dbFailOnError

No need to turn on/off warnings.
 

sphynx

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:18
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
82
No I haven't, do I place this before the my query action ie:

Code:
DoCmd.Setwarnings False
DoCmd.OpenQuery ("QueryName")
 DoCmd.Setwarnings True

Thanks for the quick response
 

DCrake

Remembered
Local time
Today, 02:18
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
8,632
In short Yes, but as suggested if you use the .Execute version you cut down the programming lines from 3 to 1. Mine was the first solution that came to mind, and the most common.

David
 

sphynx

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:18
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
82
Thanks to both of you, the last piece is now complete & I am a very happy Bunny as this is my first full scale package and deployment project complete!

I now have the joy of user training to contend with!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

DCrake

Remembered
Local time
Today, 02:18
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
8,632
Don't forget your user guide and supporting documentation:cool:
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom