Cmd Btn to Cancel and Close (1 Viewer)

ANE002

Local time
Today, 06:19
Hello - I am VERY new to Access, as in day 3 self learning. I am currently modifying the template for Call Tracking. The layout is very very similar to our current needs. On one of the forms i updated several fields to be required. There is already a "Close" button but with the required fields being blank i just get an error and have to go to the table to delete the record.

I need to make a "Cancel" button that will clear the form, close the form, and NOT make a new record. I already have a cmd btn created that says Cancel. Just need to know how to modify it.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:19
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Try doing a search on "data validation." Basically, you would use the Form's BeforeUpdate event to cancel the record if the data entered is not valid.

ANE002

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Try doing a search on "data validation." Basically, you would use the Form's BeforeUpdate event to cancel the record if the data entered is not valid.
Hhmmm. ok. i dont have a data validation option in any of the tool bars and if i type it in the search bar at the very top of the window nothing returns.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Hhmmm. ok. i dont have a data validation option in any of the tool bars and if i type it in the search bar at the very top of the window nothing returns.
Data validation would be done using some code. You'll have to specify which fields you want to validate. Try to do a search in this forum for some discussions on "data validation." I'll post a link if I find a good example.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
This should be a good place to start.

ANE002

Local time
This should be a good place to start.